Williamson County Divorce Lawyer

About Williamson County, TN

Williamson County includes cities of Brentwood, Franklin, Fairview, Nolensville and Spring Hill. The Cool Springs area of Williamson County, TN is technically not a “city” but has hundreds of shops and restaurants, breweries, and a mall and movie theater. There are also several unincorporated areas Williamson Co. including Arrington, College Grove, and Leiper’s Fork. The county is named after Hugh Williamson who signed the U.S. Constitution. Williamson Co. is located immediately south of Nashville, Tennessee and is considered one of the most desirable suburban locations in Tennessee. It offers a high standard of living and top-rated schools, and is home to a number of businesses including but not limited to Nissan. In 2010, Williamson County is listed 17th on the Forbes list of the 25 wealthiest counties in America.

We Can Help You Too

The divorce and family lawyers at Widrig Law PLLC have assisted hundreds of clients in Williamson, County with their child custody/divorce cases. We are very familiar with the court procedures, the local rules, and with all of the judges and magistrates. In Williamson Co. if you are married then your divorce will be filed in either the Circuit Court or in Chancery Court. At the time the case is filed the case is assigned to one of the judges who all "ride the circuit," which means they divide their time hearing cases in all four counties in the judicial circuit. Williamson County is in the 21st Judicial District, which includes Hickman, Lewis Williamson and Perry County. The judges of the 21st Judicial District are all designated Circuit Judges, but they sit as Chancellor when holding Chancery Court. Judge Robbie Beal sits in Division I; Judge James G. Martin, III, sits in Division II; Judge Mike Binkley sits in Division III and Judge Timothy L. Easter sits in Division IV.

If you were married but now have a child custody (also known as Parenting Time), child support, or post divorce modification case then your case would also be filed in Chancery or in Circuit Court. Both the Circuit and Chancery courts are located at the Williamson County Judicial Center, which is located at 135 S. 4th Ave. Franklin, TN 37064.

If you have a child or children but were never married to the other parent then your case would be filed in the Juvenile Court of Williamson Co. Williamson County Juvenile Court has jurisdiction over child support and custody of unmarried persons, unruly children, delinquent children, dependent and neglect cases, adoptions and termination of parental rights cases of children under the age of 18. The Juvenile Court Judge of Williamson County is Sharon E. Guffee.

The General Sessions Court handles small claims (under $25,000) and traffic violations as well as criminal cases, but in a family law context your case might be before the General Sessions Court if there was an Order of Protection or if someone violated an Order of Protection and was arrested by the police.

According to the Tennessee department of Health in 2011 there were 1,149 marriages and 655 divorces. In 2010 there were 1,026 marriages and 640 divorces in Williamson County. Although there are always a number of divorces filed in Williamson Co., at Widrig Law PLLC you are not just a number. You will work with an attorney who knows you by name and will fight for you.

Contact Us Today For A Free Evaluation Of Your Case

At Widrig Law PLLC we offer free initial consultations. If you or a loved one has a child support, alimony dispute, divorce, legal separation, adoption, prenuptial agreement, or other family law related case then please call us at 615-417-7800 today.

Contact Us • Free Consultation
Contact Form